Slyscribe’s Notebook

“Dreams are today’s answers to tomorrow’s questions.”-Edgar Cayce.

What do you say to a cup of tea? July 28, 2008

Filed under: FLOOR! COR-TAINS! GOBSHITE!,Night Fever,Tea,Things I Love — slyscribe @ 2:27 am

Make me feel better…please!

 

I come from a family where tea came in bottles for the babies, cups for the ladies and buckets for the men. A member of the tea society I was not, until I moved abroad for a few years and convinced myself I would feel at home with a mug of Lyons every evening. Being totally honest it did work and I am now a believer that tea can fix a broken heart, shattered confidence and can wire a plug in mere minutes.

 

Saturday night witnessed yet another heroic act on behalf of Lyons Quality Tea. His strength and sweetness managed to rescue me from the poisons of alcohol and relieved me of my greening complexion. Not only did he achieve this but he then went on to return the spinning room to its sober serenity.

 

Two doses later he put me to bed. At 2pm he greeted me with another dose to tackle my ticky tummy. I knew he was keeping an eye on me all day when he later appeared at a friends house for another few helpings.

 

He has been so good to me through the years, picking me up when times were hard and untangling me from the many binds I have found myself in.

 

He is my Lyon.

Isn't he just gorgeous!

Here we are on our holidays last year 🙂

 

13 Responses to “What do you say to a cup of tea?”

  1. Darren Says:

    Ah yes! Tea cures all.

    In my experience tea comes out to do curing when nothing else can be done. It’s a very Irish thing to want to help someone even when there’s nothing you can do. So, when a friend is upset, if your girlfriend is hungover, if someone is tired or feeling down, there’s nothing you can do or say, so instead it’s a sign that you care to offer a mug of tea.

  2. Wow, are you related to my wife’s family? I once sellotaped a teabag to my wife’s arm, explaining that this was a ‘tea patch’ to help her stave off the cravings in between mugs.

  3. Lottie Says:

    As Darren said – Tea cures all ales!

  4. emordino Says:

    I’m not a hot drinks man (excepting hot port and cloves, naturally), but tea can be a lifesaver when you’ve a hangover. In particular I remember having a cup with an outrageous amount of sugar at Electric Picnic one morning. Magnificent.

  5. kerryview Says:

    Lyons???????? what’s wrong with Barry’s???? (aside from the fact it’s from Cork). And my medecine of choice is coffee. Sorry for all the question marks. Too much caffeine.

  6. kerryview Says:

    medicine, of course. Bleeding coffee.

  7. Darragh Says:

    I say “feck off cup”

    Tea is for wusses. Coffee is the biz.

    Except for a soothing cup of camomile or the deep, detoxing richness of a cup of Rooibos, or the pleasure of a chai of course.

    Otherwise, WUSSES!

  8. slyscribe Says:

    I agree with Lottie…Lyons rules! As does she so double whammy 🙂

    Darren your teasight is A1.

    Thrifty: That’s genius! You must have made your wife a very happy woman.

    Emordino: I’m glad you understand. I will overlook your lack of dedication to tae…for now.

    Darragh: “Go on go on go on go…………………..”

  9. Andrew Says:

    I fecking love tea. Check out this website http://www.nicecupofteaandasitdown.com/

    It’s actually mostly about biscuits, but what a brilliant URL. I’m off for both of those things now.

  10. Maxi Cane Says:

    Tea.
    Jaffa Cakes.
    Sorted.

  11. slyscribe Says:

    Hey Maxi Cane welcome and thanks for your comment.

    I’d be a little stressed if there were no MIkados around to be honest.

  12. Mary Says:

    Ohh I don’t know how people can drink tea, I think it’s the most Godawful drink, bleurgh.
    I love coffee and can never drink enough coffee.

    I think I was turned off tea years and years and years ago as when I was younger and visiting relatives they’d ALWAYS give you tea whether you liked it or not.


Leave a Reply

